The Virtue Of Honesty

“Men were commanded to put guilty parties to death who were guilty of certain acts, like homosexuality,” Esk wrote, according to screenshots archived by the news site.

“So just to be clear, you think we should execute homosexuals (presumably by stoning)?” another commenter asked.

“I think we would be totally in the right to do it,” Esk replied. “That goes against some parts of libertarianism, I realize, and I’m largely libertarian, but ignoring as a nation things that are worthy of death is very remiss.” – From Catherine Thompson, Talking Points Memo

Contemporary Stoning As Execution

Contemporary Stoning As Execution

Mr. Esk’s comments may be reprehensible, vile, immoral, and more than a bit stupid.  They do have the virtues of honesty and consistency.  All this talk about “Biblical principals” and “homosexuality” being “incompatible with Christian teaching” leads, without a whole lot of thought to the proscribed punishment for two men caught in flagrante: stoning.  I suppose I could have put up some of the more graphic images from contemporary stonings, but I didn’t want people more uncomfortable with the image than this one already implies.  After all, I typed “stoning to death” in Google, and was thinking of getting images or icons from history.  Instead, I was assaulted by a barrage of images of actual stonings, either taking place, about to take place, or the aftermath.

All those folks out there who blather about “homosexuals” being “sinners” – remember, this is the Biblically-ordained punishment.  It would be nice, if for consistencies sake if nothing else, if they could either support such acts, or admit they wouldn’t or couldn’t, and therefore ask them why they base their opposition to sexual minorities on “Biblical principles” if they aren’t willing to go as far as the Bible demands.  After all, isn’t the Bible “infallible”?

This is one of the many reasons I’m disgusted by so much of the hatred aimed as LGBTQ people, especially by so-called Christians.  Have the guts to stand up and act on your so-called “Biblical principals” or just admit you find gay sex icky and would rather not be around those who perform such acts.

Am I being “uncivil”?  Probably.  I don’t really care.  Esk voiced what many think but are too afraid to say.  According to the FBI’s Uniform Crime Statistics for 2011 (the last year there was complete data available), “1,944 law enforcement agencies reported 6,222 hate crime incidents involving 7,254 offenses.”  That’s almost 20 a day, or one every hour and twenty minutes or so.  20.8% were motivated by “sexual orientation bias”.  That’s 1, 507, or 4 per day, one every six hours.  Think about that when you start thinking about becoming part of the tone police.  People are dying, with sexual minorities being killed, 4 per day, so if you think I’m being “mean”, remember there are real human lives in the balance here.

Tags: , ,

About gksafford

I'm a middle-aged theologically educated clergy spouse, living in the Midwest. My children are the most important thing in my life. Right behind them and my wife is music. I'm most interested in teaching people to listen to contemporary music with ears of faith. Everything else you read on here is straw.
